LLBLGenProDataSource2 automatic updates

Posts   
 
    
Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 15:23:19   

Hi,

 I have set the LivePersistence="true" , but the updates are not happening in database.

there are three fields updated on screen using in textbox. I alow user to enter everything in a formview edittemplate mode and then once its doen , divert to ietmtemplate and show it. My formview is inside a user control and this user control is in a tabcontainer on an aspax page. One gets updated , but the other two dont.

what could be the reason for this.

If i want to check what is updated and what is not and what is the reason, how can i do that. is there any way i can test what is getting updated and what is not.

please help. i am not having much experience and would appreciate your help.

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 15:36:01   

First thing to do is check the database to see if data has been updated or not.

It might be that data gets updated inside the database but the GUI is not refreshed properly to reflect these updates.

Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 16:29:05   

walla ..thx a lot for your quick answer.

but the page is getting refreshed with two fields. 4 fields are updated. 2 get updated , but other two remain same.

what all things i should check. all these come from same place and all are inside enititycollection. i read something that typedlist and typedviews are read only.

what all areas i need to check to make sure i can get it correct.

Please specify the areas i should check and do research on.

now i give data on screen. it is supposed to be updated in DB. now can you please suggest me ways to check if value is updated into source and then to DB.

please suggest.

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 16:52:02   

First give us more info as stated here: http://www.llblgen.com/TinyForum/Messages.aspx?ThreadID=7720

Also please attach the aspx and code behind files, and explain which fields doesn't get updated.

Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 17:00:57   

version used : V2.6 databse used : SQL Server .Net version 2.0

I am attaching the pages ascx and ascx.cs for your reference.

these are user controls which are in aspx page which i am attaching as well..

the fields which are under question are :

Environment ICM: CAB: Keyword:

environment and Keyword are getting updated .

ICM: and CAB: are not . this is the issue.

they are not having any relation with any other tables. all these fields are inside the machine table.

Attachments
Filename File size Added on Approval
Machines.ascx 35,154 01-Dec-2008 17:01.22 Approved
Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 17:02:30   

here is the machines.ascx.cs file

Attachments
Filename File size Added on Approval
Machines.ascx.cs 6,465 01-Dec-2008 17:03.11 Approved
Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 17:03:58   

this the aspx page which loads with the usercontrol machine

Attachments
Filename File size Added on Approval
Default.aspx 25,209 01-Dec-2008 17:04.10 Approved
Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 17:04:39   

this is aspx.cs file

Attachments
Filename File size Added on Approval
Default.aspx.cs 39,786 01-Dec-2008 17:04.51 Approved
Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 01-Dec-2008 17:05:58   

i have attached the codes. please check and leme know why the two fileds are not getting updated. is there anything wrong in the code or code behind of user control which is binded to the formview.

please help.

Attachments
Filename File size Added on Approval
Default.aspx.cs 39,786 01-Dec-2008 17:06.50 Approved
daelmo avatar
daelmo
Support Team
Posts: 8245
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
# Posted on: 02-Dec-2008 05:55:45   

Environment ICM: CAB: Keyword:

environment and Keyword are getting updated

ICM: and CAB: are not . this is the issue.

At your aspx file your are binding to ICM and CAB (Note the upercase). In general the field names are mapped in Pascal casing (unless you changed the EnforcePascalCasingAlways to False at LLBLGen designer and change the Icm field to ICM). This causes the issue at binding. So, please rewrite them to "Icm" and "Cab".

David Elizondo | LLBLGen Support Team
Sandumone
User
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 02-Dec-2008 14:20:14   

daelmo,

thanks a lot .it solved my problem . thx a lot friend.

Thanks Santhosh