No Info in Output window during debug

Posts   
 
    
JLLo avatar
JLLo
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 03-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 03-Nov-2008 23:53:40   
  • Visual Studio 2008 Working with a Class Library project type Class Library runs withing a 3rd party application (ESRI ArcMap) Current running LLBLGen Pro 2.6 Hitting an Access Database VS is in Debug mode Got my switches turned on in app.config
<switches>
      <add name="SqlServerDQE" value="3" />
      <add name="AccessDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="OracleDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="FirebirdDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="MySqlDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="DB2DQE" value="4" />
      <add name="PostgeSqlDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="SybaseAsaDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="SybaseAseDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="ORMGeneral" value="0" />
      <add name="ORMStateManagement" value="0" />
      <add name="ORMPersistenceExecution" value="3" />
      <add name="LinqExpressionHandler" value="3" />
   </switches>

I'm executing my CollectionClasses.NameCollection object using the GetMulti(Nothing) method as follows:

gmaPreSiteLvl1Tabs.GetMulti(Nothing)

Does anyone have any idea why I can't see any LLBLGen output?

Thanks, JLLo

daelmo avatar
daelmo
Support Team
Posts: 8245
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
# Posted on: 04-Nov-2008 03:43:53   

Try this

<system.diagnostics>
    <switches>
     <add name="AccessDQE" value="4" />
     <add name="ORMPersistenceExecution" value="4" />
    </switches>
</system.diagnostics>

Also post here your complete app.config only to be sure you aren't missing something. And... a dumb question: ¿is your app.config at your runnable project (the principal project)?

David Elizondo | LLBLGen Support Team
JLLo avatar
JLLo
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 03-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 04-Nov-2008 12:41:37   

Thanks! This app.config is from my primary project. I'm wondering if it has something to do with the fact that my application is running inside another (un-managed) application as a plug-in style dll. ????

Anyway...here's my entire app.config along with your suggestion. Still no output to the Output window:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<configuration>
  <appSettings>
    <add key="Main.ConnectionString" value="Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=C:\Program Files\Timmons_Group\GMA\FIELD_DATA\GMA_FIELD.mdb;User Id=;Password=;Jet OLEDB:System Database=;Jet OLEDB:Database password="/>
    <add key="ClientSettingsProvider.ServiceUri" value="" />
  </appSettings>
  <system.diagnostics>
        <switches>
      <add name="SqlServerDQE" value="3" />
      <add name="AccessDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="OracleDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="FirebirdDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="MySqlDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="DB2DQE" value="4" />
      <add name="PostgeSqlDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="SybaseAsaDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="SybaseAseDQE" value="4" />
      <add name="ORMGeneral" value="0" />
      <add name="ORMStateManagement" value="0" />
      <add name="ORMPersistenceExecution" value="3" />
      <add name="LinqExpressionHandler" value="3" />
    </switches>
    <sources>
      <!-- This section defines the logging configuration for My.Application.Log -->
      <source name="DefaultSource" switchName="DefaultSwitch">
        <listeners>
          <add name="FileLog" />
          <!-- Uncomment the below section to write to the Application Event Log -->
          <!--<add name="EventLog"/>-->
        </listeners>
      </source>
    </sources>
    <sharedListeners>
      <add name="FileLog" type="Microsoft.VisualBasic.Logging.FileLogTraceListener, Microsoft.VisualBasic, Version=8.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a, processorArchitecture=MSIL" initializeData="FileLogWriter" />
      <!-- Uncomment the below section and replace APPLICATION_NAME with the name of your application to write to the Application Event Log -->
      <!--<add name="EventLog" type="System.Diagnostics.EventLogTraceListener" initializeData="APPLICATION_NAME"/> -->
    </sharedListeners>
  </system.diagnostics>
  <startup>
    <supportedRuntime version="v2.0.50727" />
  </startup>
  <system.web>
    <membership defaultProvider="ClientAuthenticationMembershipProvider">
      <providers>
        <add name="ClientAuthenticationMembershipProvider" type="System.Web.ClientServices.Providers.ClientFormsAuthenticationMembershipProvider, System.Web.Extensions, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" serviceUri="" />
      </providers>
    </membership>
    <roleManager defaultProvider="ClientRoleProvider" enabled="true">
      <providers>
        <add name="ClientRoleProvider" type="System.Web.ClientServices.Providers.ClientRoleProvider, System.Web.Extensions, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35" serviceUri="" cacheTimeout="86400" />
      </providers>
    </roleManager>
  </system.web>
</configuration>
JLLo avatar
JLLo
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 03-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 04-Nov-2008 12:58:10   

Also, I saw one of Otis' posts. He was talking about the .Net version. Not sure if this makes a difference or not but my project is** .Net 2.0**

MTrinder
User
Posts: 1461
Joined: 08-Oct-2008
# Posted on: 04-Nov-2008 21:34:21   

Hi

Let's try and eliminate some possible causes...simple_smile

Do you get output in the command window if you run your class from a standard winforms application ?

JLLo avatar
JLLo
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 03-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 04-Nov-2008 22:58:26   

Hey MTrinder, Yea running from a stand-alone Windows Form Class (EXE) it works fine. Output looks great.

I'm really beginning to think ArcMap (the software application my DLL is running in) puts a wrapper around everything .Net and won't let the messages out in the traditional fashion.

I don't want you to spin your wheels on this too much as ArcMap is notorious for stuff like this. I looked on the ESRI boards but it doesn't look like anyone is using LLBLGen much in that world for the desktop applications.

MTrinder
User
Posts: 1461
Joined: 08-Oct-2008
# Posted on: 04-Nov-2008 23:06:02   

Ah, the joys of integrating with 3rd party componentsrage

Have you tried adding a TextWriterTraceListener to see if it will let you output the trace to a text file ?

Matt

JLLo avatar
JLLo
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 03-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 05-Nov-2008 02:04:43   

Hey Matt, Naw...I haven't tried that. I might wire that up but I suspect the same the path that outputs to the Output window is the avenue the TextWriterTraceListener would use but who knows.

I'll give that a go and let you know.

Thanks again for the assist! ~James

JLLo avatar
JLLo
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 03-Nov-2008
# Posted on: 08-Jan-2009 22:56:17   

I finally figured this puppy out. I didn't think about this until a co-worker showed me something unrelated.

ArcMap has a config file in its Bin folder (C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Bin\ArcMap.exe.config). All I had to do is add the LLBLGen output config settings in there and it worked like a champ!

Also, (and for anyone else who might take a ride on the ESRI pain train), the connection string setting in the App.Config won't work unless you copy it to the ArcMap Bin folder or add that node to the ArcMap.exe.config file. As an alternative you can hard-code (that's right...I use the H word) the connection string in the DbUtils class.