Omitting a field

Posts   
 
    
Skeeterbug
User
Posts: 165
Joined: 21-May-2004
# Posted on: 31-Aug-2005 19:23:07   

I am building out this application that keeps revisions of files in the database. Each time a file is checked back in, a new revision is made.

My problem...

It doesn't seem there is a way to omit a field when you fetch an entity.

For example, lets say I have some big file as field4

I would have this SQL:

select field1,field2,field3 from sometable

This would allow me to grab the other fields about the file revision, without fetching that HUGE file for every revision. This would kill my server if x clients were all pulling info on 10 files with 300 revisions.

I could create a view for this, but that shouldn't be necessary in this case. Could omitting a field be supported Otis?

Otis avatar
Otis
LLBLGen Pro Team
Posts: 39749
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
# Posted on: 31-Aug-2005 21:30:35   

This is implemented in the upcoming upgrade (1.0.2005.1), which I hope to put in beta end of next week (fingers crossed simple_smile )

Frans Bouma | Lead developer LLBLGen Pro
sholder avatar
sholder
User
Posts: 1
Joined: 03-Sep-2005
# Posted on: 03-Sep-2005 02:16:24   

I thought that the Typed List functionality solved this problem. Unless you are wanting more then just read-only access...

Skeeterbug
User
Posts: 165
Joined: 21-May-2004
# Posted on: 06-Sep-2005 19:30:59   

sholder wrote:

I thought that the Typed List functionality solved this problem. Unless you are wanting more then just read-only access...

I could do that, but it would be annoying to re-generate your data layer for something that simple. This is for read/write access anyways.

Posts: 2
Joined: 16-Feb-2006
# Posted on: 16-Feb-2006 06:27:08   

Sorry to drag up an old thread but I was wondering if this functionality was included in the current release?

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14983
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 16-Feb-2006 07:03:07   

Yes it is.

In the LLBLGen Pro Designer, you can remove a field from an Entity by openning the "Entity Fileds" subTab, in the Entity "Edit / Properties".

Then select the Field (any but the PK), and click the button "Remove Selected Field" just under the fields grid.