Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data Provider

Posts   
 
    
methodman
User
Posts: 194
Joined: 24-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 08:56:15   

I'm trying to add an relation data model from an oracle database.

I choose the ODT.NET driver but when I click on test connection I get the following error.

Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data Provider.


LLBLGen Pro version 3.0. Build January 3rd, 2011
-----[Core exception]--------------------
   at System.Data.Common.DbProviderFactories.GetFactory(DataRow providerRow)
   at System.Data.Common.DbProviderFactories.GetFactory(String providerInvariantName)
   at SD.LLBLGen.Pro.DBDriverCore.DBDriverBase.GetDbProviderFactory()
   at SD.LLBLGen.Pro.DBDriverCore.DBDriverBase.CreateConnection()
   at SD.LLBLGen.Pro.Gui.Controls.WizardPages.MetaDataRetrievalWizard_Step_ConnectionData.TestConnectionData()

I'm using the trial version.

In my machine.config (for version 2 and 4) I have this

   <system.data>
        <DbProviderFactories>
        <add name="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" invariant="Oracle.DataAccess.Client" description="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" type="Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleClientFactory, Oracle.DataAccess, Version=2.112.6.20, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89b483f429c47342" />
        </DbProviderFactories>
    </system.data>

In my code the databse communication works perfect. (I use code generated from 2.6 designer)

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 09:30:51   

Are you using a 6b-bit windows?

methodman
User
Posts: 194
Joined: 24-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 09:38:44   

32 bit windows server 2003

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 09:45:27   

That's the development machine?

methodman
User
Posts: 194
Joined: 24-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 09:47:35   

Yes, on this machine is the database installed and also my application which is running flawlessly.

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 10:11:12   

Please check whether ODP.NET's dll is of version 2.112.6.20 and is in the GAC. If you installed a later version, e.g. a fix, it's a later version with no redirect, and the factory creation fails

methodman
User
Posts: 194
Joined: 24-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 10:15:20   

I was using all the time the .NET 4 version. When I switched back to the non .NET 4 version it works.

Here is the config section from my .NET 4 config

<add name="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" invariant="Oracle.DataAccess.Client" description="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" type="Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleClientFactory, Oracle.DataAccess, Version=4.111.6.20, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89b483f429c47342" />

I guess it has something to do with the version number. Could you please check what is the value in your config ? If you have any config :-)

I'm running ODT.NET 2.111.6.20

methodman
User
Posts: 194
Joined: 24-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 10:19:35   

OK thanks, I gonna try it.

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 10:32:26   

I'm running ODT.NET 2.112.1.2

Same as you I have the following in "C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\Config\machine.config"

<add name="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" invariant="Oracle.DataAccess.Client" description="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" type="Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleClientFactory, Oracle.DataAccess, Version=4.112.1.2, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89b483f429c47342" />

And the following in "C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\CONFIG\machine.config"

<add name="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" invariant="Oracle.DataAccess.Client" description="Oracle Data Provider for .NET" type="Oracle.DataAccess.Client.OracleClientFactory, Oracle.DataAccess, Version=2.112.1.2, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89b483f429c47342" />

I Run Widnows 7 64-bit. I have nothing in the config files under "C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64" That's because I didn't download the ODP.NET 64-bit version.

Now when I run the LLBLGenPro_x86.exe, it works. And when I run the LLBLGenPro_NET40.exe, it works. Only when I run LLBLGenPro.exe it doesn't work, cause it looks for the 64-bit version.

methodman
User
Posts: 194
Joined: 24-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2011 10:44:48   

Updating ODP.NET did the trick :-) It works now on both versions.

Maybe you could mention this in the oracle related doc :-)