Problem with generated code

Posts   
 
    
Romi
User
Posts: 11
Joined: 21-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2010 20:20:26   

Hi,

I am facing a problem with the generated code. I am using llbl 2.0.

My code was previously generated by another person. Now i am generating it.

After generating the code if i want to make any change in function defination of any generated fucntion, the system automatically adds ByVal to the parameter. Even if i do not want ByVal there.

like if we have updateMulti(a as entitiy) the system appends ByVal to the parameter as UpdateMulti(ByVal a as entity)

how can i avoid it. If i see the previously generated code the code did not have ByVal in its argument.

Please help. Thanks for all your support!!

Otis avatar
Otis
LLBLGen Pro Team
Posts: 39863
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2010 20:32:34   

We asked you this before, could you post your customerid please?

Frans Bouma | Lead developer LLBLGen Pro
Romi
User
Posts: 11
Joined: 21-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 13-Jan-2010 20:48:41   

hi otis,

my customerID is 17084

daelmo avatar
daelmo
Support Team
Posts: 8245
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
# Posted on: 14-Jan-2010 07:01:10   

Hi Abhijit,

Romi wrote:

After generating the code if i want to make any change in function defination of any generated fucntion, the system automatically adds ByVal to the parameter. Even if i do not want ByVal there.

like if we have updateMulti(a as entitiy) the system appends ByVal to the parameter as UpdateMulti(ByVal a as entity)

How is this affecting your code? (In UpdateMulti you don't need to remove ByVal) Anyway, you can create your own methods inside SelfServicing classes to fit your requeriments. Please be more specific about what is your problem or what you need to achieve.

David Elizondo | LLBLGen Support Team
Romi
User
Posts: 11
Joined: 21-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 14-Jan-2010 08:38:30   

Thanks for your reply daelmo,

The problem is that we already have a generated code, now i have added few more tables and columns to existing table and want to regenerate the code. Our previously generated code had some function and property defined by the developers. So i want to copy those additional functions and properties to the newly generated code. In the proces of copying the previously written functions, i am facing this problem. When i copy and paste these functions to newly generated code and save at that time the parameters of the fucntions are automatically appened by ByVal. How do i solve this problem?

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 14-Jan-2010 08:44:34   

It seems to me like a copy and paste issue of Visual Studio. simple_smile

Are you copying from a C# to VB.NET? Would you please attach the source file and the destination file? Which version of Visual Studio is this?

Romi
User
Posts: 11
Joined: 21-Aug-2009
# Posted on: 14-Jan-2010 09:29:14   

Thanks for you reply smile

I think what i will do is i will replace ByVal with ByRef. cry

I have one more problem. i have added 5 new fields in a table. When i genrate the code i could see the properties of these new fields but to my serprise i could not see the properties of the existing fields of the table. When i see the fields of that table(entity) in the llblgen Pro tool i can see the new as well as old properties. Does this mean i did not generate the code properly ? or is ther some kind of option which i had to select while generating the code? cry

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 14-Jan-2010 09:41:53   

What do you mean by you can't see the existing properties? Do you mean they are not generated in the code? Or they don't show in intellisense?

Anyway can you try generating the code into a new folder, create a new application and referece the generated code, and test to see if the old and new fields are there.