Howto obtain table's fields at runtime

Posts   
 
    
amccool avatar
amccool
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 08-Jun-2007
# Posted on: 20-Oct-2008 20:37:11   

Hi,

I have a table which has changed over different versions of the database. How can I create an entity to work with this table that contains all the fields for the database being worked on? The designer was run against the earliest version of the database, and the later version(s) of the database have added columns.

I could use a Dynamic List, but I still need to know the names of the columns that do not exist in the generated code.

Perhaps another approach? Thanks, Alex

daelmo avatar
daelmo
Support Team
Posts: 8245
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
# Posted on: 21-Oct-2008 07:09:00   

Why not:

  • Refresh the catalog at LLBLGen Desinger
  • Generate Code (your DAL will be updated)
  • Ready

?

How often does you schema change?

David Elizondo | LLBLGen Support Team
amccool avatar
amccool
User
Posts: 18
Joined: 08-Jun-2007
# Posted on: 21-Oct-2008 08:43:48   

daelmo wrote:

Why not:

  • Refresh the catalog at LLBLGen Desinger
  • Generate Code (your DAL will be updated)
  • Ready

?

How often does you schema change?

Well truth be told, the schema changes more frequently than I like (welcome to poorly managed outsourcing)

I suppose I could roll a refresh per catalog, but this will be painful in the SCM sense.

I have 5 outstanding version of the schema, OTHER than regen'ing via the designer am I destined to telling management, I told you so?

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14993
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 21-Oct-2008 09:03:34   

Every time the schema changes the code should be re-generated (after refreshing the catalog in the Designer).