ASP.Net GUI Problems

Posts   
 
    
timt
User
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-Nov-2006
# Posted on: 27-Feb-2008 10:03:04   

Hi

I have successfuly built and run the asp.net gui template samples (latest versions for 2.5) and run it against the Northwind sql server db.

I then tried the Adventure Works db but found that at runtime the edit orderheader page hangs. The other functionality all appears ok. I can't break the debugger to see what is going on as it seems hung somewhere.

I have attached the project file (was going to send the whole project but it apears the upload limit is only 256k...) and wondered what your thoughts may be on the problem.

The only changes I have made was to use the custom properties plugin to enable labels and dropdowns in LLBLGen Pro, everything else has been generated automatically.

Version: 2.5 final dll version 2.5.8.214 VS 2008, c# SQL server 2005, AdventureWorks DB (2005 version, case insensitive)

Thanks Tim

(Could you please edit your original post next time instead of starting new threads? simple_smile Thanks. I've removed the other 2 threads. ) -- Otis

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14987
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 27-Feb-2008 10:11:40   

I have attached the complete project and wondered what your thoughts may be on the problem.

Nothing is attached.

timt
User
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-Nov-2006
# Posted on: 27-Feb-2008 13:54:25   

Hi

My original upload had the full project but the size exceeded the limit so I have uploaded the smaller project only file. The original post has now been deleted (can't we delete our own posts?), I should have reused the original, sorry for the confusion.

Thanks

Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14987
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 27-Feb-2008 16:38:23   

Are you using .NET 3.5? or using VS 2008 with .NET 2.0?

timt
User
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-Nov-2006
# Posted on: 27-Feb-2008 17:19:28   

Hi

I am using .Net 3.5 with VS 2008

daelmo avatar
daelmo
Support Team
Posts: 8245
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
# Posted on: 28-Feb-2008 17:26:59   

Hi timt.

I tested your project last night. It works just perfect for me. This is what I did:

  1. I ensure I have an AdventureWorks DB on my SQLServer2K5
  2. Open your LGP
  3. Generate code for C#/Adapter/.Net Framework 3.5. This generate the DBGeneric and DBSpecific projects.
  4. I ensure I have installed the ASP.Net 2.0 GUI templates installed.
  5. Generate code for C#/Adapter/.Net Framework 2.0. This generate the GUI folder with all the pages and controls.
  6. Create a solution and include the 3 projects (DBSpecific, DBGeneric, and an "Existing Website" that is our GUI forlder.
  7. Modify the Main.connectionString. 8, Run the project.

I tested the list, add, edit and listSubset of all entities (5) and everyting work as expected. If you can give us more info... maybe is another kind of issue (VSNet, machine, etc.)

David Elizondo | LLBLGen Support Team
timt
User
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-Nov-2006
# Posted on: 29-Feb-2008 16:30:01   

Hi David

Thanks for testing, you have pretty much done what I have for the build process. I have retried several different build configurations but it still hanges when editing an OrderHeader record (selected from the Listall OrderHeaders page)

The build machine is Windows Server 2003 fully up to date with patches etc which I use for all of my web projects, I have placed a copy of the full project code at http://www.dotnetarchitect.co.uk/adventureworks.zip If you get a change to load that in I would be grateful as LLBLGen Pro is a fantastic product and I have great plans for it but it spooks me when I get a hang problem such as this and need to understand why it is so simple_smile

Much appreciated Tim

daelmo avatar
daelmo
Support Team
Posts: 8245
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
# Posted on: 29-Feb-2008 16:52:21   

Tim, I'll test your zipped project today and post the results.

David Elizondo | LLBLGen Support Team
timt
User
Posts: 14
Joined: 13-Nov-2006
# Posted on: 29-Feb-2008 17:44:10   

Hi David

I have investigated further and have found the problem - me! The page had dropdown lookups that loaded over 32000 items each (3 of them) ,this with the viewstate enabled meant the page took ages to load but was not hanging - just taking its time. Even with a really fast PC and stacks of memory is was taking an age to load. I turned off those features and it loads just as quick as the other pages.

I'll need to look into using ajax based on demand dropdown lists!

Thanks for taking the trouble to have a look.

Regards Tim

daelmo avatar
daelmo
Support Team
Posts: 8245
Joined: 28-Nov-2005
# Posted on: 29-Feb-2008 21:17:12   

No worries simple_smile Good to hear you find it.

David Elizondo | LLBLGen Support Team