v5.7 Designer Dialog Issue

Posts   
 
    
arschr
User
Posts: 893
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
# Posted on: 27-Jul-2020 17:48:32   

When I open a dialog, for example the "Perform Tasks" of the Sync relational model screen. The text boxes don't accept input (for example password). If I make the dialog a little wider to the right, all is ok again and I can proceed.

I've attached screenshots the first (with yellow highlighting shows the right end of the textboxes are strange. The second is after widening the dialog.

This seems to happen each time the dialog is opened, not just the first time, or the first time per session.

This is running local (not remote desktop). Windows 10 2004, My screen resolution is 3840x2160 and scale is 100%

Attachments
Filename File size Added on Approval
Llblgen5.7_2020-07-27_11-38-56.png 96,025 27-Jul-2020 17:48.46 Approved
Walaa avatar
Walaa
Support Team
Posts: 14855
Joined: 21-Aug-2005
# Posted on: 27-Jul-2020 20:05:34   

I can't reproduce it with any of the available resolutions I have. (max 2560x1440).

If you set you resolution to a lower one, would it solve the problem?

arschr
User
Posts: 893
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
# Posted on: 27-Jul-2020 22:42:42   

I can test with that, if it will help you identify and fix the problem.
I'll test 2 ways. 1) lower resolution 2) native resolution, with 150% scale.

I can also comment that I use devexpress controls extensively and haven't seen an issue like this in other programs.

arschr
User
Posts: 893
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
# Posted on: 27-Jul-2020 22:57:20   

Tested with 150% scale, same issue Tested with 1920x1440, same issue

Otis avatar
Otis
LLBLGen Pro Team
Posts: 39160
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
# Posted on: 28-Jul-2020 09:02:01   

This is with all dialogs? Or only with this one? I also can't reproduce it... Also not with a wider dialog, sync, then close, restart designer, sync again (which then has the wider sync dialog)... input works just fine... Will try on 4K

Frans Bouma | Lead developer LLBLGen Pro
Otis avatar
Otis
LLBLGen Pro Team
Posts: 39160
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
# Posted on: 28-Jul-2020 09:09:12   

Also using 4K, normal scaling like you, no issue... If you remove the file (after closing the designer) C:\Users<your user>\AppData\Roaming\LLBLGen Pro\guistate57.xml

you'll reset the GUI state and how big the sizes of the dialogs are. Does that solve anything?

Frans Bouma | Lead developer LLBLGen Pro
arschr
User
Posts: 893
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
# Posted on: 28-Jul-2020 14:07:30   

No, it doesn't change the problem. I then closed the designer, edited the guistate57.xml file. I changed the width in all the <DialogSize DialogType="13" Width="800" Height="526" /> to 800 from 6xx, different dialog types have different numbers.

saved and reopened. No joy, still same problem (I'm not sure the dialogs used that width though).

I then manually resized the dialog, made it wider, the issue goes away. Then made it narrower, the issue stayed away.

Closed dialog and reopened, issue back.

The other dialog I've noticed it on is the one on opening designer for opening a project. There though I don't seem to be able to do the resize trick. So I can't open an existing project from there.

Otis avatar
Otis
LLBLGen Pro Team
Posts: 39160
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
# Posted on: 28-Jul-2020 14:10:49   

Still feels like a DPI problem, where stuff is resized to meet the windows requirements. You're using win10 2004, we're on 1 version older so maybe that's related, no idea...

I'll build an exe without DX acceleration enabled in DevExpress controls, perhaps that's related.

Frans Bouma | Lead developer LLBLGen Pro
Otis avatar
Otis
LLBLGen Pro Team
Posts: 39160
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
# Posted on: 28-Jul-2020 14:14:37   

Could you try the attached exe please? I've switched off DirectX acceleration and also enabled DPI awareness 'v2' in the devexpress settings. Perhaps that fixes it. Other than that I honestly have no idea what could be wrong, also because we can't reproduce it so it's a nail in a haystack search... disappointed

Attachments
Filename File size Added on Approval
LLBLGenPro_Designer_NoDX.zip 693,098 28-Jul-2020 14:14.46 Approved
Frans Bouma | Lead developer LLBLGen Pro
arschr
User
Posts: 893
Joined: 14-Dec-2003
# Posted on: 28-Jul-2020 15:16:36   

I should drop this exe into the current install directory or should it just run by itself? .... Replace existing exe in install directory. (after saving old). No change.

More information on opening project dialog that can't be resized. Moving the window also fixes the issue.

If this was just a display issue, it seems strange it would affect mouse clicks and keyboard input. This dialogs don't take input until the are adjusted.

In any case, I have a work around

Otis avatar
Otis
LLBLGen Pro Team
Posts: 39160
Joined: 17-Aug-2003
# Posted on: 28-Jul-2020 18:11:24   

Hmm, as this doesn't make a difference, I'm afraid I'm out of options to try... very strange that this happens and sorry that you had to run into this. Glad you have a workaround, altho it should just work... If we run into a solution to this problem, we'll let you know simple_smile

Frans Bouma | Lead developer LLBLGen Pro
AHenry
User
Posts: 17
Joined: 30-Jan-2013
# Posted on: 24-Aug-2022 15:36:27   

Thanks for posting this workaround, it did the trick for me running 5.6.2.